Home » Uncategorized » Gray Days are My Favorite

Gray Days are My Favorite

Let me just start this off with today, has not been my day. I’m stressed about school (as always), work (why do they keep putting me on call?), finding a place to live this summer and next semester, getting into the nursing program, what I’m going to do after I graduate (yes, already), Romania, my broken car (it hates me), and the list goes on. My birthday is this weekend, and that’s stressing me out too. How wrong is it to be stressed out by your TWENTIETH birthday? I’m not even old yet!

So where is the best place to turn when everything seems dark and uncertain, and no one knows the answers? Personally, I turn to my Bible. Actually, first I turned to Facebook. Embarrassing, right? I wasn’t really looking for answers, just mindlessly scrolling trying to quiet my mind, when I saw a status by one of my friends. They were stressed out too (fancy that), but their status said something along the lines of God being their provider. Well… There was my answer. So I opened my Bible app on my phone and searched “God is my provider.”

“Great are the works of the Lord; they are pondered by all who delight in him. Glorious and majestic are his deeds, and his righteousness endures forever. He has caused his wonders to be remembered; the Lord is gracious and compassionate. He provides food for those who fear him; he remembers his covenant forever. He has shown his people the power of his works, giving them the lands of other nations. The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy. They are steadfast forever and ever, done in faithfulness and uprightness. He provided redemption for his people; he ordained his covenant forever – holy and awesome is his name.” – Psalm 111: 2-9 [emphasis added]

“Sing to the Lord with thanksgiving; make music to our God on the harp. He covers the sky with clouds; he supplies the earth with rain and makes grass grow on the hills. He provides food for the cattle and for the young ravens when they call. His pleasure is not in the strength of the horse, nor his delight in the legs of a man; the Lord delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.” – Psalm 147: 7-11 [emphasis added]

I was drawn to those verses by the italicized sections – the Lord provides. The Lord provides. The Lord provides. Over, and over, and over, and over again. He provides for the earth, though it gives nothing to him. He provides for the cattle and birds. He provides food for his people. God fulfills his promises. The Lord provides. Silly me, I had to think to myself, to think that I might not receive the things I need. Now, I know this doesn’t mean I’ll get what I WANT. But if I need someplace to live next year? The Lord will provide it. My broken car? The Lord will provide means to fix it. Nursing school? If I don’t get in, that means the Lord has a different plan. Romania? He will provide a way back. All my needs, all his promises – they will be fulfilled.

I found those verses due to the italicized portions. I was struck by the parts I didn’t italicize. Go on, read them again. What do they say?  The works of the Lord are majestic. Holy is his name. He is faithful. The Lord delights in those who fear him. Oh yes, the often forgotten part. Praise. Praise the Lord. Praise his works. Praise his blessings. Praise your troubles. The Lord will provide, so stop worrying about your needs and instead just PRAISE him. It changes everything, doesn’t it? Those storms don’t seem so large when you realize your God is a whirlwind of power. Those mountains don’t seem so daunting when you realize your God stands above them all.

Actually, if you think about it, it’s ironic. Gray days are my favorite. Rain, snow, clouds… I don’t like sunlight. Give me a gray day over any beautiful sunny one. So why do I hate the gray days of my life? Shouldn’t I be thankful for them too? Actually, I think I’ll try that… Being just as thankful for the gray days of my life as I am for gray weather days.

Leave a comment